Who loves Casseroles? I do! Need your help…


Hi, I am a home mom who has been cooking recipes my family has passed down through several generations. They mean a great deal to me and every one of them has a sweet and special story. I got them from my mother, but when she was just 35 she had a stroke and was paralyzed on her left side. She lived 30 more years but the recipes ended up with short cuts by using canned ingredients because she couldn’t cut veggies and money was very tight. I would like someone, anyone to help me replicate these recipes as they would have been before canned and store-bought things were as accessible as they are now. I will start with an easy one, I now call this the kids cassy because it is the one true thing i can be sure my kids will eat. Whoever ends up helping has to go into detail for me, as I have never had a garden and not worked with fresh ingredients much.

Kids Cassy

1 lb. ground beef
1/4 cup dried onion flakes
salt and pepper and garlic salt to taste
1 box elbow noodles
1 can of tomato soup+a can of water
1 and a half bags of finely shredded sharp cheddar cheese

Preheat oven to 350

Brown ground beef with the spices and onion flakes and drain

Cook noodles according to package directions

Microwave soup and water with salt and pepper to taste. (I do this in a glass measuring bowl with a pour slot for easy distribution.

Assembly

In a cassy dish layer meat then noodles then cheese then pour half the soup over it.

Repeat. Bake covered for 30 min or til cheese is nice and bubbly.

*This also freezes well and have used it for deaths in the family or if someone is sick and can’t cook, again, the kids love it!

Thanks so much for taking the time to listen and I can’t wait to see the ideas folks end up having!

Leave a Reply

