Down for the count


It’s been a little over a week since my last post. I have a pretty good excuse for slacking in my posts. I have been attacked by the flu bug and have really had no interest in getting online to write anything for the last week. I don’t want anyone to think that I have been idle though. That is not the case. I have been planning my next gardening series to help everyone planning their first garden or even those of us who have been gardening for years. I hope everyone will walk away from my next garden series with some new techniques or maybe you will just be reminded of easier or better ways to make your garden the best it can be. I hope to have the finishing touches on the series in the coming week in time for you to get those first seeds planted in preparation for the last frost date in your area.

I have also been spending my downtime this week browsing some seed catalogs and placing orders. The last frost date in Georgia is around mid April so I hope to have my first round of tomatoes in the ground by then. As everyone knows with tomatoes, being the first one on your block or neighborhood with juicy tomatoes in early June is a great feeling. While everyone else is still relying on those picked green and gassed with chemicals to give that red appearance to grocery store bought tomatoes, I will be enjoying a fresh, naturally vine-ripened tomato on June 1st. There is still time to get those tomato seeds in some good potting soil and with some extra protection from cold weather, you can have tomatoes in early June also.

I hope everyone is doing great and I look forward to sharing more with you as the 2013 garden season gets started. I would like to hear from anyone who has tips they want to share with other gardeners on how they get those early crops planted and harvested before anyone else.

5 thoughts on “Down for the count

  1. Glad your feeling better and looking forward to your new series. I wish that we could enjoy fresh tomatoes here in New England in June! This has me thinking about starting them very early and putting pots outside through the spring…

    Like

  2. Sorry you’ve been ill. I had my flu time a few weeks ago. I’ve been busy starting seeds and looking through catalogs as well. My last frost date is early March, but I think we’ve seen the last of it here. Potatoes are already in the ground for my “experiment.” I look forward to reading more of your blogs! 🙂

    Like

    • I hope your potato “experiment” works out for you. I haven’t grown potatoes for years but I am adding them to the garden plan this year for sure. Now that I have all of this room I will be planting more vegetables that have gone by the wayside. Thank you for your kind words too. I am feeling so much better now. More rain is expected this weekend but I will not let it get me down because I have seeds to plant.

      Like

Leave a Reply

