Garden Blog status….finally


I’m sorry to all of my readers for being MIA the last month or so.  I have been busy with my wife’s new business venture, Twisty Stitches – Arts & Crafts with a Twisty Stitch!, and have totally neglected my own blog.

Don’t worry though, I have not forgotten to plant my garden or spend countless hours in the hot sun hoeing and scraping and pulling weeds.  As you may remember from past posts, I have expanded the garden considerably from the raised beds next to the pool to 2 larger plots in the yard.  Both of these garden plots are fully planted (except for the corn plot, still need a couple more rows of Silver Queen to plant) and all of the plants are doing very well.  Except for the eggplant and the okra though.  For some reason, all of the okra and eggplant transplants that I started earlier in the Spring died with 2 weeks of planting in the garden.

I’m pretty sure it wasn’t shock from planting because they seemed to be doing just fine the first week.  Then they simply fell over.  I was looking closely at them and it looks like the RED CLAY that I am so blessed with (haha) may have been the culprit.  It looks like the soil dried out a little too much and simply crushed the young stalks.  I don’t believe it was anything like a cutworm because the plants just simply fell over and were not severed at ground level.  Oh well, I don’t really like eggplant all that much anyway.  🙂

The tomato plants are doing really well although we do have a couple that just don’t want to grow very much.  They are not much taller or bushier than they were when I planted them over a month ago.  Whereas, most of the other plants are already putting out blossoms and a few small green tomatoes.

The crowder peas and lima beans have come up and I have a pretty decent stand of them.  They are growing by the day too.

That’s about it for now.  I will try to post more often but I can’t guarantee anything at this point.  The business is going well and the farmer’s market that we have a booth at is taking up much of our Saturday.  If you live in Georgia and are near Dallas GA stop by the Dallas Georgia Farmer’s Market next to the courthouse.

booth3 booth4 booth5 booth6

Leave a Reply

